Founded in October 2017 as a non-profit organization, the Literary Society of Pakistan aims at promoting literature in Pakistan. It also aims to celebrate Pakistani literature produced in Pakistani languages including but not limited to Balochi, Brahvi, Pashto, Punjabi, Saraiki, Sindhi, and Urdu. The Society is equally proud of Pakistan’s Anglophone literature.

The Society is committed to providing platforms (website, social media groups and pages, conferences, reading sessions, seminars, symposia) where Pakistani writers and writing can be published, read, discussed, and appreciated. From writers, we mean all the creative and academic practitioners, and from writings we mean all genres and styles of literary and critical works. The Society also regards translators and sees translation as a significant means of engaging in cross-cultural dialogues within Pakistan and beyond.

We work with an understanding that literature produced in different regions of Pakistan builds and is build out of a wide range of geographical, social, cultural, and historical contexts that add to the richness and beauty of this world.

Our membership is open to anyone interested in literature: poets, novelists, writers of short and flash fiction or creative non-fiction, scholars and literary critics, and students and teachers of literature.

Fateh Muhammad Malik
Iftikhar Arif
Muhammad Sheeraz Dasti

Muhammad Sheeraz Dasti received his PhD from the International Islamic University (IIU), Islamabad, in 2014. He has taught at the University of Colorado at Boulder in the USA, the QAU, Islamabad, the Air University, and the IIU, where he is the Chair of the English Department. From January to June 2016, he was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of North Carolina in Wilmington. He is the co-editor of two academic journals, Me’yar and Journal of Contemporary Poetics. His publications include his Urdu novel, Saasa, and three books of literary and academic translation.

Husnul Amin
Khurshid Nadeem
M. Hameed Shahid
Mazhar Hayat
Najeeba Arif
Nasir Abbas Nayyar
Nukhbah Taj Langah
Safeer Awan
Shahid Siddiqui
Wasima Shehzad
Yousif Khushk
Abdul Aziz Sahir
Akhtar Raza Saleemi
Amna Mufti
Arshad Mahmood Nashad
Hafeez Khan
Muhammad Suheyl Umar
Munawar Iqbal Ahmad
Rashid Hameed
Sibghatullah Khan
Sumayya Fatima
Abdullah Jan Abid
Atoofa Najeeb
Bibi Ameena
Farrukh Nadeem
Liaqat Iqbal
Mubarak Ali Lashari
Muhammad Awais Bin Wasi
Muhammad Illyas Chishti
Najia Almas
Qasim Yaqoob
Rafaqat Hayat
Sana Tariq
Muhammad Numan